UCC monument

Monument to 13 IRA men killed by British Firing squads, in UCC. Erected in 1948.

IMG_3002The plaque below states : “Here lie the mortal remains of 13 volunteers of the Irish Republican Army executed By British Firing squads in the Cork Military Barracks in 1921 and buried here in what was then a part of the exercise yard of the former Cork County Jail”


IMG_3010Above: “Daniel O’Brien Liscarrol   Patrick Royane Burnfort Mallow   Thomas Mulcahy Burnfort Mallow  Cornelius Murphy Ballydaly Millstreet  Sean Allen Tipperary  Patrick Casey Caherelly Co Limerick”

IMG_3012Maurice Moore Cobh   Patrick O’Sullivan Cobh   Patrick O’Mahony Donoughmore   Timothy McCarthy Donoughmore    John Lyons Aghabullogue    Thomas O’Brien Dripsey   Daniel O’Callaghan Dripsey


*Click on images to enlarge.